Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Let a Former Prosecutor Fight for You You Don't Have to Face Tough Charges Alone

Sexual Assault Charges in Arizona

According to the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC), “One in five women and one in 71 men will be raped at some point in their lives.” The NSVRC continues, “91% of the victims of rape and sexual assault are female, and 9% are male.”

Interestingly, most victims know their attackers. In eight out of 10 sexual assault cases, the victims knew the person who attacked them, the NSVRC reports. On average, each rape costs over $151,000 and annually, the cost of rape is $127 billion, more than any other crime. Lastly, “the prevalence of false reporting is between 2% and 10%, according to the NSVRC. False reporting is not common, but it does happen once in a while.

What Does Arizona Law Say?

In Arizona, sexual assault or rape is covered under Section 13-1406 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Under Sec. 13-1406, sexual assault is defined as, “intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without consent of such person.” Sexual assault is a Class 2 felony offense if the victim was age 15 or older, punishable by:

  • 5.25 to 14 years in prison;
  • 7 to 21 years if the offender has one prior felony conviction;
  • 14 to 28 years if the offender has two or more prior felony convictions; and
  • Up to a $150,000 fine.

If a defendant is convicted of sexual assault pursuant to Sec. 13-1406, he or she will be required to register as a sex offender. To learn about sex offender registration in Maricopa County and throughout Arizona, click here. You can also learn more by visiting the Arizona Department of Public Safety’s website.

Facing sexual assault charges? If so, your entire future is at stake. For skilled defense representation, contact our firm to meet with a Phoenix sex crimes attorney for free!

Categories: