Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Let a Former Prosecutor Fight for You You Don't Have to Face Tough Charges Alone

What are the Penalties for a Hit & Run in Arizona?

According to the latest data available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were 6,064,000 police-reported crashes in 2014. Of those, 2,338,000 people were injured and 32,675 were killed. That is a high number of crashes and injuries.

With car accidents being so common, it’s not usually a crime to be involved in an injury crash unless you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, but speeding away from an injury crash is a crime, even if the accident was not your fault.

If you are involved in an accident involving physical injuries or death, you are legally obligated to stop and render aid. If you get nervous or scared and flee the scene of a crash where someone else was injured or killed, you will likely be charged under ARS Section 28-661.

Injury Accidents: Failure to Stop

Under ARS Section 28-661, if a driver is involved in an accident involving injuries or death, he or she must STOP their vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the scene as possible and stay at the scene of the crash until he or she has fulfilled the requirements established under Section 28-663, including:

  • Provide their name, address, and registration number for the vehicle that they were driving.
  • Upon request, show their driver’s license to the driver or occupants of the other vehicle that they were in an accident with.
  • Render necessary aid to anyone injured in the accident, including getting the injured to a hospital or surgeon for medical treatment if it’s necessary or requested by the injured.

We are aware that car accidents can be very nerve-racking and you may not exactly be thinking with a clear head, but you must understand that fleeing the scene of an injury accident is a serious crime under Arizona law.

Under Sec. 28-661, if you are involved in an accident involving injuries or death and you do not fulfill the requirements listed above under Sec. 28-663, you could be charged with a Class 5 felony.

If you were found guilty under Sec. 28-661, your driver’s license would be revoked for 5 years, but if someone was killed in the accident, your license would be revoked for 10 years.

Under Sec. 13-702, the sentencing for a Class 5 felony range from 6 months to 2.5 years behind bars.

Are you facing felony charges after fleeing the scene of an injury accident? If so, contact the Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC for a free consultation with a former prosecutor. We are available 24/7 to take your call!

Categories: