Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Let a Former Prosecutor Fight for You You Don't Have to Face Tough Charges Alone

Penalties for Assault in Arizona

In Arizona, it is easy to be charged with assault. A simple altercation between two individuals can escalate into a criminal arrest if any physical injury is involved. You could even be charged with assault if you threatened to injure another person, but never laid a finger on them.

However minor assault charges may seem, they must be taken seriously as they can result in jail time and a permanent criminal record, both of which will have long-lasting consequences for the accused.

To better understand Arizona’s assault statute, here is a breakdown of the laws:

In Arizona, assault is covered under Section 13-1203 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Under this section, a person commits the offense of assault when he or she:

  1. Intentionally or recklessly injures another person (Class 1 misdemeanor),
  2. Intentionally places another person in reasonable fear of imminent bodily injury, for example, threatens to hurt another person (Class 2 misdemeanor), or
  3. Knowingly touches another person in an offensive or insulting manner, such as poking someone in an offensive manner, or shoving them (Class 3 misdemeanor).

What are the penalties for assault?

A Class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500.

A Class 2 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 4 months in jail and a fine not to exceed $750.

A Class 3 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine not to exceed $500.

Under Section 13-1204 of the Arizona Revised Statues, a person commits the offense of aggravated assault when: 1) they cause serious physical injury to another person, 2) the actor used a dangerous instrument or a deadly weapon, 3) the assault occurred after entering a person’s home with the intention of assaulting the person, or 4) the actor is 18 or older and assaulted a child 15 or younger.

Aggravated assault is generally prosecuted as a Class 3 felony, unless the assault involved a victim age 15 or younger, then in that case it is a Class 2 felony.

If you are facing assault or aggravated assault charges, it’s vital that your side of the story be heard loud and clear by the prosecutor and judge, otherwise your charges can lead to serious consequences.

At the Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC, we understand that you may have been acting in self-defense; contact our firm right away to schedule your free consultation with Attorney Davidson, a former prosecutor!

Categories: