Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Let a Former Prosecutor Fight for You You Don't Have to Face Tough Charges Alone

Driving on a Suspended License After a DUI

In the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s, drunk driving was far more prevalent than it is today. Back then, it was almost considered “no big deal” to drink and drive, but society’s views on driving under the influence (DUI) has changed dramatically over the past 30 plus years.

According to the Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS), “DUI is recognized as a violent crime” and the GOHS is determined to reduce the threat of drunk and drugged drivers in Arizona. While the public’s awareness about the dangers of drinking and driving has changed and improved, drunk drivers still take too many lives in Arizona and throughout the nation.

In 2014, over 33% of the traffic-related fatalities in Arizona were related to drunk driving, according to the GOHS. In an effort to deter drivers from drunk driving, the state imposes harsh penalties for DUI, including: mandatory jail time, thousands in fines and fees, mandatory Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs), and driver’s license suspension.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

For many DUI defendants, one of the most difficult punishments is the “driver’s license suspension.” In some cases, a DUI defendant will find the urge to drive too strong.

They’ll think, “It’s not a big deal if I drive my girlfriend’s car to drive to the store real quick,” or “I have to drive my child to school, I can’t leave them home,” or “I don’t want to take the bus to work, that will take three times as long as driving.”

When people drive while their license is suspended for a DUI or revoked for another reason, they are committing a crime under A.R.S. 28-3473. Under Sec. 28-3473, it’s against the law to drive a motor vehicle while your driver’s license is suspended or revoked for any reason, including DUI.

Driving while your license is suspended for a DUI is a separate offense; it is a Class 1 misdemeanor under Sec. 28-3473, punishable by:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 3 years of unsupervised probation
  • Up to a $2,500 fine
  • A surcharge

We understand how difficult it can be to have your driver’s license suspended for a DUI, especially if you have others relying on you, such as an employer and dependents. Unfortunately however, driving while your license is suspended it illegal, and if you’re caught you could end up in jail for up to six months and you could have to pay thousands in fines, not to mention you’d have yet another black mark on your criminal record.

If you were arrested after driving on a suspended license, contact the Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC for a free case evaluation with a Phoenix criminal defense lawyer!

Categories: