Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Let a Former Prosecutor Fight for You You Don't Have to Face Tough Charges Alone

Arizona DUI Penalties

Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Phoenix? If you are wondering if it’s worth fighting your charges, the answer is yes! Arizona, much like Texas and Florida has some of the toughest laws in the nation, and DUI is no exception.

It’s important that you understand that the consequences of a DUI extend beyond the court-ordered fines, jail, and community service. How would a criminal conviction affect your insurance premiums? Would your job still be waiting for you if you had to go to jail?

A DUI can impact many aspects of a person’s life, including:

  • Child custody
  • College applications
  • Security clearance (for government employees)
  • Travelling to other countries
  • Their job, and their career
  • Their ability to maintain or obtain a professional license
  • Their credit score
  • Automobile insurance (coverage and pricing)
  • Military pay and advancement

DUI and Arizona Law

In Arizona, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol or any drugs, or to be in actual physical control of a vehicle while impaired. This means that you can get a DUI, even if you were merely under the influence of lawfully prescribed medications, especially those prescribed for pain relief, anxiety, or sleep problems.

If you are stopped and you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%, or if a blood alcohol or drug test are not available, you will lose your driving privileges on the spot.

You will also have to complete a drug alcohol screening before you can reinstate your driving privileges or get a restricted permit.

First DUI Offense

  • A minimum of 10 days in jail
  • A minimum $1,250.00 fine
  • Undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • Install Ignition Interlock Device
  • You will have to perform community service

Second DUI Offense

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail
  • A minimum $3,000 fine
  • License revocation for 12 months
  • Undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • Install an Ignition Interlock Device
  • You will have to perform community service

If you had a BAC of 0.15% or higher at the time of your arrest, it is called an “extreme DUI.” Extreme DUIs involve lengthier jail sentences and higher fines.

An “ aggravated DUI” is where there were aggravating circumstances involved in your case, such as driving on a suspended license, refusing to submit to a chemical test, or driving with a minor under the age of 15. Aggravated DUIs also involve harsher penalties.

Looking for a Phoenix DUI attorney? Contact the Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC to work with a former prosecutor with over 15 years of experience!

Categories: