Arrested for Drunk Driving in Phoenix?
Get Aggressive Defense from an Experienced DUI Attorney
It can happen to anyone. You've been at a party, or were just hanging
out with friends, when you're driving home and see the lights come
on behind you. Your mind immediately begins to race. "How much did
I drink tonight?" "Will I pass the breath test?" "What
if I get arrested?" If the worst happens, and your BAC is over the
limit, your drivers' license will immediately be suspended and you
may have to spend the night in jail.
Make Joshua S. Davidson your first call! He is available to come to your
What Are Arizona's Laws About DUI?
Driving under the influence (DUI), also known as driving while intoxicated
(DWI) in some states, is
the criminal offense of operating a motor vehicle while impaired by drugs
or alcohol. A DUI charge is based upon a person’s ability to operate a vehicle.
If you consume any alcohol, no matter the amount, and your ability to drive
is impaired, you can be convicted of DUI. You can also be convicted of DUI based on your blood alcohol concentration
(BAC), which can be determined by a
blood or breath test. In the case that
drug use is suspected, a urine test will be conducted.
In the state of Arizona, the legal
BAC limit is 0.08% for people over the age of 21. If a person has a blood alcohol concentration over .08 it is illegal
for them to drive, even if their driving does not appear to be impaired.
On the flip side, if a person’s BAC is
below the legal limit of .08 and their driving appears to be even the slightest
bit impaired, they can still be charged and found guilty of DUI.
Arizona also has a
zero tolerance law that applies to anyone under the age of 21.If someone underrage is caught operating a motor vehicle with
any amount of alcohol in their system, they will be charged with DUI, whether they are driving impaired or not.
What Penalties Will I Face If Convicted of DUI?
In the state of Arizona, the penalties for a DUI conviction depend on the
type of DUI that was charged and the defendant’s criminal record.
If this is your
first offense and you are charged with a standard DUI, you can face any or all of the
- A fine of $1250
- Up to 10 days in jail
- Alcohol or drug screening, treatment, or education program
- Ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle
- Community service
After the first offense, any subsequent charges carry much more severe
penalities, including jail time of two years and suspension of your license
for 12 months or more.
At the Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, we have successfully defended
clients against the following DUI charges, and more:
What Defenses Are There For DUI Charges?
If you have been charged with DUI, regardless of your blood or breath test
results, you need to have your case evaluated by an experienced DUI defense
There are numerous defenses to DUI charges, many of which have nothing
to do with your alleged BAC. For example, if the police were lacking reasonable suspicion when they
pulled you over, or failed to follow proper procedure when administering
the blood or breath tests, your case could be dismissed. We will also
closely examine the maintenance records of the machine used to test your
breath or blood, and should we find any irregularities with the equipment,
we can utilize that information to the fullest extent possible.
DUI cases can be difficult because many of the state’s trial witnesses
are police officers who have received training and have experience testifying
in court. Because many DUI cases need to go to trial, you should have
a seasoned, reputable DUI defense attorney who knows what to expect at
court. As a former DUI prosecutor, I am well versed in all aspects of
DUI law and will put my knowledge and experience to work for you.