As law enforcement has become more aggressive towards persecuting DUI offenses,
Arizona has acted in accordance with national DUI trends, such as the
use of ignition interlock devices. Our state has taken DUI a step further
by instituting what is known as an extreme DUI. An extreme DUI is when
any driver has a BAC of .15 or higher within two hours of driving or being
in control of a vehicle. This is a misdemeanor in Arizona.
Penalties for an Extreme DUI
If a driver is pulled over on suspicion of DUI, an officer will likely
request a breath or blood test to determine their blood alcohol content.
If their BAC is over .15, they face harsh penalties for their actions.
For a first time extreme DUI, a driver faces:
- 30 days to 6 months in jail
- 5 years of probation following their release from jail
- Around $17,600 in fines and related costs
- 1 year license revocation
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
On top of these criminal charges, a judge may order a driver to complete
community service, attend alcohol classes, pay restitution, and appear
at a panel for those affected by their actions. A judge may also order
a convicted offender to refrain from consuming any alcohol for 30 days
or longer by continuous alcohol monitoring.
Arizona has some of the harshest sentencing for DUI in the country, as
evidenced by the unique extreme DUI charge. On top of these criminal convictions,
a driver will need to obtain an additional car insurance policy that requires
for them to pay $500 per year for three years simply to ensure communication
between the insurance company and the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Any DUI case should never be handled alone. An experienced criminal defense
attorney can work to reduce or eliminate charges based on the details
of the arrest, or accept a plea bargain for a lesser charge.
Our firm offers free case consultations and can be reached 24 hours a day,
7 days a week for representation in any extreme DUI case.