Arizona has statutes in place to counter
juvenile offenses such as underage drinking and underage DUIs, and other crimes such as
trespassing. Under these laws, a minor is considered someone who is younger than 21,
which means that someone who is charged with violating this law at age
18 or older could have their permanent adult record affected. All it could
take then is one error in judgment, or one honest mistake to find yourself
with a criminal record. Businesses could also face penalties if they are
responsible for serving alcohol to a minor. Here then is an overview of
minor in possession (MIP) regulations, exceptions, and penalties.
In Arizona, a minor under 21 is permitted to go into a bar as long as they
are with a parent, guardian, or spouse who is at least 21, or if they
are an employee of the establishment that sells alcohol. Of course, even
if the minor can legally enter the bar, they can't ask for an alcoholic
drink. Except in rare circumstances, it is illegal for a minor to drink
alcohol in public.
If a minor uses a false ID to get alcohol or to get inside a business that's
licensed to sell alcohol, then that is a
Class 1 misdemeanor offense.
It is a
Class 2 misdemeanor for a licensed business to supply alcohol to a minor.
If a minor asks someone else to buy alcohol for them, then that is a
Class 3 misdemeanor.
There are a couple of scenarios in Arizona where a minor is permitted to
consume alcohol in public. This includes using liquor out of valid medical
necessity, as long as the alcohol consumption puts no one at risk. Again,
if the public will not be put at risk by doing so, a minor can also consume
liquor in public as part of a religious ceremony.
What are some of the penalties for violating a minor in possession law?
If you are charged with breaking an MIP law, on top of criminal penalties
of incarceration and fines, a conviction could mean losing your driver's
license for as many as 180 days. Far worse of all, however, would be having
the record of an arrest and conviction, something that could come up in
any job interview or housing application. Here are some of the other potential
penalties you could face:
Class 1 misdemeanor charge, you could be looking at 6 months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Class 2 misdemeanor charge, you could be sentenced to 4 months in jail and $750 in fines.
Class 3 misdemeanor charge, you could face 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.
If you or someone you know faces a misdemeanor or a felony charge, you
can find the skilled defense you need at the Law Offices of Joshua S.
Davidson, PLC, where you can get a former prosecutor on your side. His
experience as a prosecutor gives him an edge when it comes to creating
a successful defense, and his experience as a top-notch criminal defense
lawyer in Phoenix has helped to him produce great
case results for clients time and again. Attorney Davidson is passionate about shielding
his client's liberties and reputations, and he can inform you about
your legal rights and how to use them. You can also learn about your defense
option in a
free initial consultation. Learn how a dedicated defender can clear your name in juvenile or adult
court when you
call our defense firm or fill out a
free case evaluation today!